The State of Chhattisgarh, formerly a part of Madhya Pradesh was formed on November 1, 2000 as the 26th state of the Indian Union. The districts of the state are Koriya, Sarguja, Jashpur, Bilaspur, Korba, Raigarh, Champa, Mahasamund, Raipur, Kawardha, Durg, Rajnandgaon, Kanker, Dhamtari, Bastar and Dantewara, with Raipur as the capital.

Area : 1,35,194 Sq Km

Population : 20,795,956

Districts : 18

More than 80 per cent population depends on agriculture. The area under cultivation is 43 per cent. Main crops are paddy, wheat, maize, groundnut, pulses and oilseeds. Forests occupy 45 per cent of the area. Apart from Bhilai Steel Plant with 40 lakh tonnes capacity, eight sponge iron plants in the private sector, 13 ferro-alloy plants, 125 steel rolling mills and one H.R. strip plant has been established. Besides, iron casting units, engineering and fabrication units, agrobased food processing, chemical and plastic industries are also present

Cement Plants in Chhattisgarh – Report of A Joint Visit by Environics Trust and NTUI