The proposed dam safety bill, which the Centre is planning to introduce in the upcoming session of Parliament, has all the trappings to trigger yet another inter-state row. The implication of the draft bill, as circulated to the state government, is that Tamil Nadu will lose its ‘ownership rights’ over four dams located in Kerala — Mullaperiyar, Parambikulam, Thunakadavu and Peruvaripallam — but they will meet the drinking water and irrigation needs of the western and southern districts of TN. 

Courtesy: The Times of India