Odisha District Mineral Foundation

Odisha’s royalty collection in the financial year 2015-16 remained at Rs. 5569.95 Crore with share of coal and non-coal royalties contributing to 29.22% and 62.50% respectively. During this year, the state received total collection of Rs. 516 Crore from non-coal minerals and 430 crore from Coal minerals in respective DMFs (5 districts).

Documents related to Odisha District Mineral Foundation

  • Only 5 districts reported collection of funds into District specific DMFs constituted so far
  • Maximum contribution (24%) in the month of March 2016 (end of financial year 2015-16)
  • Keonjhar & Sundergarh stand out as major receipients of contribution in District Mineral Foundation from minerals other than coal & lignite. These both districts contribute almost 93% (Rs. 479 Crore) of overall fund accumulated in DMF as of September 2016.

  • Angul District received maximum contribution to the DMF fund from coal mining followed by Jharsuguda. Angul & Jharsuguda are two contiguous districts majorly having coal deposits and mining of coal by Mahanadi Coalfields Limited (MCL) in the Ib Valley
  • Sambalpur has one coal mine i.e. Talabira – I Coal mine which was earlier with Hindalco but after Coal auctioning, the mine is now with GMR Chhattisgarh Energy Limited
  • Maximum contribution (23%) in the month of March 2016 (end of financial year 2015-16)

Total 39% of sanctioned amount is allocated for water related projects. This hints that Government did not spend all these years in mining areas for these basic needs. It is now that such huge amounts are being pushed for such projects. There is nothing for the affected communities which they can directly get relief, it is rather an old practice by bureaucracy in a new format of schemes. If one looks at the Annual Plan for Keonjhar District, it is the Line Departments who are the proposers of projects under DMF. Such projects once identified will be placed before the Executive Committee for scrutiny and preparing the priority list before approval of Trust. The project director, DRDA happens to be the Chief Executive of the Trust to whom all such proposals are sent.